This was the Season when Lavant won the Bareham Trophy twice. This was as a result of the final from the previous season having to be played at the start of this season and Lavant played in and won both finals.  The first final was played on the 10th September and Lavant took on Whyke at the New Park Road pitch in Chichester and won the match 2-1, with J.Castle scoring both goals.
The following team was selected to play Whyke:

S.Smeeth     C.Wiltshire
K.Duke              R.Hill                C.Proudley
J.Castle            A.Hathaway      B.Proudley   A.Bleach       G.Goff

Result:              Whyke 1           Lavant 2
Goal Scorer:     J.Castle (two).

Lavant Team Photo taken 10th September 1956 featuring the team that won the Bareham Trophy for the first time beating Whyke 2-1.


The Bareham Trophy winning team consisted of:
(left hand side back row) Ray Hill, Brian Proudley, George Leggett, Stan Smeeth, Colin Proudley, Tony Bleach.
(left hand side front row) Johnny Castle, Alan Hathaway, Charlie Wiltshire, Gerry Goff, Ken Duke.


The team (Stan Smeeth, Tony Bleach, Johnny Castle, Brian Proudley, Ken Duke, Ray Hill, Charlie Wiltshire, George Leggett, Gerry Goff, Alan Hathaway, Colin Proudley) celebrating winning the cup after the game.


Charlie Wiltshire receiving the cup from match Officials outside the Bareham Trophy outside the New Park road changing rooms. Lavant Chichester League Team 1955-56.


The team consisted of:
(left hand side back row) R.Hill, Harold Proudley, Stan Smeeth, G.Leggatt, C.Proudley and C.Wiltshire.
(left hand side front row) B.Proudley, A.Hathaway, G.Goff, Tony. Bleach and Sid Callow.

Lavant’s Chichester League Team taken at New Park Rd football pitch, Chichester on the 15th October 1955 playing away to Chichester B and was published in the November 1955 edition of The Observer. The team was featured with the caption stating “The Club have now gone to the top of the League”. Lavant won the game 4-1 and the goalscorers were Tony Bleach three and G.Goff one.

Lavant Bognor League Team 1955-56


The team consisted of: (left hand side back row) W.Alner, P.James, J.Luffman, D.Tallick, D.James, C.James.
(left hand side front row) R.Jupp, M.Axeworthy, D.Nutbeam, D.Batchelor, M.Anscombe.

Lavant Team Photo taken 20th May 1956 featuring the team that won the Bareham Trophy for the second time in one season, beating Bognor B 3-2.


The team consisted of:
(left hand side back row) Tony Bleach, Pete James, Dave Prior, Ray Jupp, Alan Janman, Les Colyer.
(left hand side front row) Brian Proudley, David Batchelor, Ray Hill, Sid Callow, Gerry Goff.

The second Bareham Trophy cup final was played on the 23rd April and Lavant took on Bognor B and won the match 3-2, with Brian Proudley scoring two and Sid Callow scoring one of the goals.

The following team was selected to play Bognor B:
L.Colyer            R.Hill
A.Bleach           R.Jupp              A.Janman
B.Proudley        D.Batchelor       P.James            S.Callow           G.Goff

Result:              Bognor B 2        Lavant 3
Goal Scorers:   B.Proudley (two) S.Callow.