Upper Beeding 2 Lavant 1

Lavant first team opened their season with an away fixture to Upper Beeding Reserves.

Due to a number of reasons, seven of the first team squad were missing for this fixture and so Lavant were depleted in numbers, just managed to field a side with one sub.

That said the team worked together and started the game well, keeping their shape and giving Beeding few chances.

Lavant reworked the ball well and were quick to counterattack and one such move saw Andy Rickett break down the right hand side to cross low into the box where Justin Harrison neatly slotted home from 6 yard. 0-1

Lavant should have gone two nil up when Harrision got past the keeper and facing an empty goal somehow put the ball wide to the relief of the home side.

Lavant managed to hold onto the lead going into half time, but rode their luck, as perhaps the home side were unlucky not to get awarded a penalty when temporary keeper James Callnon took our the Beeding striker in the air, but the Referee adjudged it to be a fair 50-50 challenge, to the disbelief of the home team.

The second half saw Beeding come sprinting out the blocks forcing Lavant to defend for much of the half and were level within 5 minutes of the restart, as the ball bounced off the post and following a scrap in the 6 yard area the the ball was poked across the line. 1-1

With Lavant running out of steam and struggling with injuries, Upper Beeding after spells of continuous pressure took the lead from a long range shot into the top corner of the goal, giving keeper Lewis Fogden on chance. 2-1

Lavant came back into the game in an attempt to draw level, but Beeding used all their squad and were able to put on fresh legs and see out the remainder of the half to eventually claim all three points at the final whistle.

A tired Lavant were really disappointed after the game for not to at least coming away with draw, which was truly deserved on the day after a great team effort.

Team: Lewis Forden, Toby Young, James Callnon, Aaron Hancock, Charlie Cooper, Sam Baldwin, James Sandford, Tom Davy, Justin Harrison, Andy Ricketts, Max Barragan-Segre, Sam Wiggins