Lavant 3 Cowfold Reserves 1

Dave Knight’s 39th minute goal secured the West Sussex League Division One Title for Lavant at The Jungle.

The league leaders started brightly with swift and fluid passing, forcing Cowfold’s ‘keeper, Matt Beck, into two fine saves in the first eight minutes.

When Beck was beaten by Mike Bartley’s conversion of James Brooks cross, the striker’s effort grazed the post.

The visitor’s produced only one half chance from a free kick which defender, Josh Harris fired over the Lavant crossbar half way through the first half.

The homeside’s pressure was finally rewarded when Ryan Seacombe stabbed home Bartley’s cross in the 27th minute.

Cowfold maintained a resolute 4-5-1 defence, relying on swift counterattacks. After their Anthony Parsons went off the pitch, following a head injury and was waived back on by referee, Mark Weller, his unmarked presence gave him Cowfold’s first real shooting chance. Lavant ‘keeper, Neil Sanson, had it covered but it deflected off a Lavant defender into the net just after the half hour, drawing the game level.

The homeside restored their lead once more with Knight’s goal and Bartley nearly added another just on half-time but his strike shaved the bar.

At the restart, Lavant retained ball possession for long spells with Beck again denying Bartley, Mike Neville shooting over and Seacombe being denied a goal for a very tight offside decision.

The game was eventually put beyond Cowfold’s reach when Bartley netted on 84 minute. At the whistle, the homeside celebrated on the pitch and the joy was summed up by a very happy Mrs Sharon Knight who consuming her third glass of champagne declared:” I can’t believe I gave birth to the lad whose goal secured the Title”.

Lavant: N.Sanson, C.Coe, J.Wright, B.Purgavie, M.Lyttle, M.Neville, J.Brooks,  M.Stevens, D.Knight, R.Seacombe, M.Bartley.  Subs: N.Latham, S.Cole, S.Walder, G.Ockwell