Lavant Reserves 2  The Unicorn 0

Lavant Reserves continued their good form with another accomplished performance on Saturday.

After three away games in a row, the men in yellow were looking to make it a happy homecoming on a sunny afternoon in Lavant. After a nervy start, the home side committed a foul wide on the right and the well-delivered free kick caused problems before being scrambled clear. However as the first half wore on Lavant began to take control of the game, albeit without really testing the away ‘keeper, with Adam Yaxley’s left footed strike which hit the bar the closest they came to an opener.

The second half began as the first had finished and, just as last week, Lavant began to keep and use the ball better. The Unicorn were looking for the ball over the top but were having no joy, the back four of Paul Taylor, Neil Latham, Matt  Grace and MOM Henry Polack nullifying any threat superbly, and with the industrious Scott Yaxley breaking up the play in front of them, there only looked one team likely to score.

Lavant’s superiority finally told just after the hour mark. After a passage of possession football, the ball was worked down the right and the delivery saw John Langridge out-jump his marker to nod goalward. The keeper parried but Greg Ayling was there to follow up, firing into the roof of the net to score for the third week in a row.

Alex Holmes replaced Dave Maclean shortly after and made a positive impact, spreading and linking the play well. On 75 minutes the ball was fed down the left channel, and when it fell to Holmes 20 yards out, he curled a right-footed shot beyond the keeper and into the bottom left corner.

The game looked safe and the home side, with a full quota of subs, were able to freshen up the team, but this had no detrimental effect as they continued to create chances and, except for a rasping long-range half volley which just passed the post, controlled the last 10 minutes to complete a well deserved win.

Lavant: Rob Baylis, Paul Taylor, Neil Latham, Henry Polack (c), Matt Grace, Scott Yaxley, Dave Maclean, Will Cieszynski, Greg Ayling, Adam Yaxley, John Langridge. Subs: Martin Smith, Micky Earle, Chris Coe, Louis Weller, Alex Holmes